Endorsements: June 2016 primary election

City Democratic Club endorsements: June 2016 primary election

About 40 voting members participated in our endorsement meeting last Thursday evening on March 31. Lots of energized members and friends in the room, with speeches advocating candidates for offices ranging from POTUS to DCCC.

The ballots have been counted, and the City Democratic Club announces its endorsements for the June 2016 primary election. Congratulations to all:


President: Hillary Clinton

US Senate: Kamala Harris

US House of Representatives: D12- Nancy Pelosi, D14- Jackie Speier


CA Senate D11: Scott Wiener

CA Prop 50: Yes


Superior Court Judge: No Endorsement

Club bylaws require a 60% majority to endorse. No candidate reached this threshold.


Joshua Arce, London Breed, Malia Cohen, Zoe Dunning, Shaun Haines, Tom Hsieh, Gary McCoy, Leah Pimental, Rebecca Prozan, Alix Rosenthal, Arlo Smith, Frances Tsang, Scott Wiener, Jill Wynns


Kat Anderson, Keith Baraka, Joel Engardio, Mark Farrell, Tom A. Hsieh, Mary Jung, Trevor McNeil, Emily Murase, Rachel Norton, Marjan Philhour


Prop AA: Yes


Prop A: Yes
Prop B: Yes
Prop C: Yes
Prop D: Yes
Prop E: Yes

Other business

We also voted on club officers and are pleased to welcome Kat Anderson as our newly elected club president! Congratulations as well to all winning officers.

Kat Anderson, president
Michael Ho, 1st vice-president
(open seat), 2nd vice-president
Steve la Plante, treasurer
Michelle Parker, recording secretary
Clay Harrell, corresponding secretary
Michael Breyer, member-at-large
Heidi Machen, member-at-large

As we welcome officers for 2016, we also say goodbye to outgoing president, Mike Ho, and outgoing 2nd vice-president, Jim Reilly. Thank you both for your years of outstanding leadership and service to the club.

Endorsements for November 2014 general election

Upon vote of the membership at its September 18 endorsement meeting, the City Democratic Club announces its endorsements for the November 2014 general election.

State/Federal Offices

Nancy Pelosi for U.S. House of Representatives, District 12.
Jackie Speier for U.S. House of Representatives, District 14.
David Chiu for State Assembly, District 17.
Phil Ting for State Assembly, District 19.

Daniel Flores for Superior Court, Office 20.

Jerry Brown for Governor.
Gavin Newsom for Lieutenant Governor.
Betty Yee for Controller.
Alex Padilla for Secretary of State.
John Chiang for Treasurer.
Kamala Harris for Attorney General.
Dave Jones for Insurance Commissioner.
Fiona Ma for Board of Equalization, District 2.
Tom Torlakson for Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Board of Supervisors

Mark Farrell, D2; Katy Tang, D4; Jane Kim, D6; Scott Wiener, D8; Malia Cohen, D10.

Board of Education

Trevor McNeil, Emily Murase, Shamann Walton.

Community College Board

Four-year terms: Thea Selby, Rodrigo Santos, Anita Grier.
Two-year term: Amy Bacharach.

At-Large Offices

Carmen Chu for Assessor/Recorder.
Jeff Adachi for Public Defender.
Nicholas Josefowitz for BART Board of Directors, D8.

Local Measures

Yes on Prop A, water bonds
Yes on Prop B, population-based indexing of Muni funding
Yes on Prop C, Children’s Fund et al
Yes on Prop D, retiree benefits, former Redevelopment Agency employees
Yes on Prop E, soda tax
Yes on Prop F, Pier 70 development
No on Prop G, property transfer surtax
No on Prop H, prohibition on artificial turf
Yes on Prop I, permission of artificial turf
Yes on Prop J, minimum wage increase
No on Prop L, transportation priorities policy statement

The club has no endorsement on Prop K.

State Measures

Yes on Prop 1, water bonds
Yes on Prop 2, rainy-day fund
Yes on Prop 45, health insurance rate regulation
Yes on Prop 47, misdemeanor offense classification

The club has no endorsements on Prop 46 or Prop 48.